The Pañcāvaraṇastava of Aghoraśivācārya:

A twelfth-century South Indian prescription for the visualisation of Sadāśiva and his retinue

Collection : Collection Indologie

Collection's number: 102

Editor: Goodall (Dominic)

Edition: EFEO, Institut français de Pondichéry (IFP)

Publication date: 2005

Status : Se renseigner auprès de l'éditeur

23,00

ISBN : 2-85539-662-X

ISBN-13 : 978-2-85539-662-0

ISSN : 0073-8352

Width : 17 cm

Height : 23,5 cm

Weight : 0,5 kg

Number of pages : 266

Distributor : EFEO Pondichéry Contact : shanti@efeo-pondicherry.org, distributeur online : scholarswithoutborders@gmail.com, distributeur Chennai : jibh.rkc@gmail.com

Geography : Inde

Language : Anglais

Place : Pondichéry

Support : Papier

Read more Read less
This article has been added to the basket

Abstract

This volume presents a critical edition of a once celebrated liturgical hymn in one hundred verses by Aghoraśiva. That celebrated twelfth-century theologian of Chidambaram is known both for his commentaries and for his ritual manuals: the Mrgendrapaddhati and the Kriyakramadyotika. The latter, completed in 1157 AD, remains one of the principal authorities for the performance of ritual in South Indian Saiva temples today. In his Pañcāvaraṇastava, “Praise of the Five Circuits”, Aghoraśiva shows how the central deity of the Saiva Siddhanta should be visualised in worship. The initiate should see the benign, white, consortless, five-faced and ten-armed Sadasiva enthroned on an eight-petalled lotus. Arranged around him in five concentric rings are anthropomorphic forms of the 11 mantras that are his heads and body-parts, then 8 souls that administer the universe, then 8 members of his family, the 10 divinities that protect the directions, and finally the anthropomorphised weapons of those protectors. Annotation and a selection of photographs accompany the text.

About the editor

Goodall (Dominic)

Member of the EFEO since 2000.

Dominic Goodall studied Greek and Latin, then Sanskrit at Pembroke College, Oxford. After finishing his BA (Sanskrit with Pali, 1990), he came to Hamburg for two years to learn medieval Tamil with Professor S.A. Srinivasan. He then returned to Oxford, to Wolfson College, where, under the guidance of Professor Alexis Sanderson, he produced a critical edition of the opening chapters of Bhaṭṭa Rāmakaṇṭha’s tenth-century commentary on the Kiraṇatantra, which he submitted as a doctoral thesis in 1995 and subsequently published from Pondicherry in 1998. He was attached to the French Institute of Pondicherry as a junior researcher in 1996–1997 before returning to Oxford as Wolfson College Junior Research Fellow of Indology from 1998 to 2000. In 2000, he became a member of the École française d’Extrême-Orient (EFEO, “French School of Asian Studies”).  He became Head of the Pondicherry Centre of the EFEO in 2002, where he remained until April 2011.

Posted in Paris from 2011 to 2015, he gave lectures at the École pratique des hautes études (Religious Sciences Section), principally on Cambodian inscriptions in Sanskrit and on the history of Śaivism from unpublished sources. He is now once again posted in Pondicherry, where he continues to pursue his scholarly interests, in particular in Sanskrit poetry and in the history of the Śaiva Siddhānta.

Among his publications are editions and translations of works of poetry in Sanskrit and of hitherto unpublished Śaiva scriptures and theological commentaries.

He is currently a professor (directeur d’études) at the EFEO, co-editor with Dr. Marion Rastelli of the Viennese dictionary of tantric terminology, the
Tāntrikābhidhānakośa, and a contributor to the Hamburg Encyclopaedia of Manuscript Cultures in Asia and Africa (EMCAA).

In May 2016, he was elected membre correspondent étranger de l'Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres.

Related books

Le catalogue des Éditions de l'EFEO, riche d'environ 600 titres, propose des publications portant sur l'Asie, depuis l'Inde jusqu'au Japon, et couvrant un large spectre disciplinaire en sciences humaines et sociales (archéologie, histoire, anthropologie, littératures, philologie, etc.).
Ces publications, si elles s'adressent d'abord à la communauté scientifique, intéressent également un public attiré par les civilisations et sociétés d'Asie.

The Pañcāvaraṇastava of Aghoraśivācārya:

A twelfth-century South Indian prescription for the visualisation of Sadāśiva and his retinue

Collection : Collection Indologie

Numéro de collection: 102

Éditeur: Goodall (Dominic)

Édition: EFEO, Institut français de Pondichéry (IFP)

Année de parution: 2005

Statut : Se renseigner auprès de l'éditeur

23,00

ISBN : 2-85539-662-X

ISBN-13 : 978-2-85539-662-0

ISSN : 0073-8352

Largeur : 17 cm

Hauteur : 23,5 cm

Poids : 0,5 kg

Nombre de pages : 266

Distributeur : EFEO Pondichéry Contact : shanti@efeo-pondicherry.org, distributeur online : scholarswithoutborders@gmail.com, distributeur Chennai : jibh.rkc@gmail.com

Géographie : Inde

Langue : Anglais

Lieu : Pondichéry

Support : Papier

Description :

237 p., [26] ill.

En savoir plus Lire moins
Ce article a été ajouté au panier

Résumé

Ce volume présente l’édition critique d’un hymne liturgique en cent vers rédigé par Aghoraśiva, un théologien du XIIe siècle qui a vécu à Chidambaram, célèbre par ses nombreux commentaires et ses manuels de rites : la Mrgendrapaddhati et la Kriyakramadyotika. Cette dernière oeuvre, achevée en 1157, fait encore autorité dans la vie rituelle des temples sivaïtes en Inde du Sud aujourd’hui. Dans son Pañcāvaraṇastava, « L’hymne des cinq circuits », Aghoraśiva montre comment il faut visualiser la divinité centrale du Saiva Siddhanta quand on la vénère. L’initié voit Sadāśiva – bénin, blanc, sans épouse, avec cinq têtes et dix bras – sur un lotus blanc de 8 pétales. Rangés autour de lui en cinq cercles concentriques se trouvent d’abord les formes anthropomorphiques des 11 mantras qui sont les têtes et les membres de son corps, ensuite les 8 administrateurs de l’univers, les 8 membres de sa famille proche, les 10 protecteurs des directions et les 10 armes anthropomorphisées de ces derniers. Le texte est accompagné de notes et d’une sélection de photographies.

À propos de l'éditeur

Goodall (Dominic)

Membre de l’EFEO depuis 2000.

Né à Londres en 1967, Dominic Goodall a étudié le grec et le latin, puis le sanskrit au Pembroke College, Oxford. Après son Bachelor of Arts (Sanskrit with Pali, 1990), il a été initié au tamoul médiéval par le professeur S. A. Srinivasan, à l'université de Hambourg (1990-1991). Il est ensuite retourné à Oxford, au Wolfson College, pour y faire un doctorat sous la direction du professeur Alexis Sanderson portant sur l'école théologique du Śaivasiddhānta dans le Cachemire du Xe siècle. Sa thèse achevée (1995), il a été allocataire de recherches à l'Institut français de Pondichéry pendant deux ans (1996-1997), après quoi il est revenu à Oxford en qualité de Wolfson College Junior Research Fellow of Indology (1998-2000). Membre de l'EFEO depuis septembre 2000, il a dirigé le centre EFEO de Pondichéry de 2002 jusqu’en 2011.

Après quatre années à Paris (2011-2015), où il animait des séminaires à l’École pratique des hautes études (Section des sciences religieuses), notamment sur le shivaïsme et sur les inscriptions du Cambodge, il est actuellement affecté de nouveau à Pondichéry.

Parmi ses publications, plusieurs présentent des éditions et traductions d'ouvrages de poésie en sanskrit et de tantras et commentaires théologiques jusqu'ici inédits. 

Il co-dirige, avec Mme Marion Rastelli de l’Académie Autrichienne des Sciences, le dictionnaire viennois de la terminologie tantrique hindoue, le
Tāntrikābhidhānakośa, et il contribue à l'Encyclopaedia of Manuscript Cultures in Asia and Africa (EMCAA), qui se prépare à Hambourg.

En mai 2016, il a été élu membre correspondent étranger de l'Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres.

Livres similaires