The Niśvāsatattvasaṃhitā. The Earliest Surviving Śaiva Tantra

Volume 1. A Critical Edition & Annotated Translation of the Mūlasūtra, Uttarasūtra & Nayasūtra

Alexis SANDERSON

Collection : Collection Indologie

Collection's number: 128

Editor: Goodall (Dominic)

Edition: EFEO, Institut français de Pondichéry (IFP), Asien-Afrika-Institut, Universität Hamburg

Publication date: 2015

Status : Disponible

52,00

ISBN-13 : 978-2-85539-151-9

ISSN : 0073-8352

Width : 17,5 cm

Height : 25 cm

Weight : 1,3 kg

Number of pages : 662

Distributor : EFEO Pondichéry Contact : shanti@efeo-pondicherry.org, distributeur online : scholarswithoutborders@gmail.com, distributeur Chennai : jibh.rkc@gmail.com

Geography : Inde

Language : Anglais, Sanskrit

Place : Pondichéry

Support : Papier

Read more Read less
This article has been added to the basket

Abstract

Transmitted to us in a well-preserved ninth-century Nepalese manuscript, the Niśvāsatattvasaṃhitā has come in recent years to be recognised as probably the oldest surviving complete scripture of the Mantramārga. Although its historical importance has been hinted at by a range of scholars across the twentieth century, this is the first time its text appears in print. This volume presents a critical edition and annotated translation of the three earliest layers of the text: the Mūlasūtra, Uttarasūtra and Nayasūtra. The topics dealt with include cosmology, rituals of worship and initiation, and forms of yoga. A lengthy introduction sets these sūtras in context, in particular by examining the evidence for dating them. There follow a summary of their contents, an account of the early manuscript and its three twentieth-century apographs, and a treatment of the various ways in which the language of the Niśvāsa deviates from Pāṇinian norms.

Notes

You can also order this title at the following address:

shanti@efeo-pondicherry.org

About the editor

Goodall (Dominic)

Member of the EFEO since 2000.

Dominic Goodall studied Greek and Latin, then Sanskrit at Pembroke College, Oxford. After finishing his BA (Sanskrit with Pali, 1990), he came to Hamburg for two years to learn medieval Tamil with Professor S.A. Srinivasan. He then returned to Oxford, to Wolfson College, where, under the guidance of Professor Alexis Sanderson, he produced a critical edition of the opening chapters of Bhaṭṭa Rāmakaṇṭha’s tenth-century commentary on the Kiraṇatantra, which he submitted as a doctoral thesis in 1995 and subsequently published from Pondicherry in 1998. He was attached to the French Institute of Pondicherry as a junior researcher in 1996–1997 before returning to Oxford as Wolfson College Junior Research Fellow of Indology from 1998 to 2000. In 2000, he became a member of the École française d’Extrême-Orient (EFEO, “French School of Asian Studies”).  He became Head of the Pondicherry Centre of the EFEO in 2002, where he remained until April 2011.

Posted in Paris from 2011 to 2015, he gave lectures at the École pratique des hautes études (Religious Sciences Section), principally on Cambodian inscriptions in Sanskrit and on the history of Śaivism from unpublished sources. He is now once again posted in Pondicherry, where he continues to pursue his scholarly interests, in particular in Sanskrit poetry and in the history of the Śaiva Siddhānta.

Among his publications are editions and translations of works of poetry in Sanskrit and of hitherto unpublished Śaiva scriptures and theological commentaries.

He is currently a professor (directeur d’études) at the EFEO, co-editor with Dr. Marion Rastelli of the Viennese dictionary of tantric terminology, the
Tāntrikābhidhānakośa, and a contributor to the Hamburg Encyclopaedia of Manuscript Cultures in Asia and Africa (EMCAA).

In May 2016, he was elected membre correspondent étranger de l'Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres.

Related books

The Niśvāsatattvasaṃhitā. The Earliest Surviving Śaiva Tantra

Volume 1. A Critical Edition & Annotated Translation of the Mūlasūtra, Uttarasūtra & Nayasūtra

Alexis SANDERSON

Collection : Collection Indologie

Numéro de collection: 128

Éditeur: Goodall (Dominic)

Édition: EFEO, Institut français de Pondichéry (IFP), Asien-Afrika-Institut, Universität Hamburg

Année de parution: 2015

Statut : Disponible

52,00

ISBN-13 : 978-2-85539-151-9

ISSN : 0073-8352

Largeur : 17,5 cm

Hauteur : 25 cm

Poids : 1,3 kg

Nombre de pages : 662

Distributeur : EFEO Pondichéry Contact : shanti@efeo-pondicherry.org, distributeur online : scholarswithoutborders@gmail.com, distributeur Chennai : jibh.rkc@gmail.com

Géographie : Inde

Langue : Anglais, Sanskrit

Lieu : Pondichéry

Support : Papier

Description :

662 p., ISBN (IFP) : 978 81 8470 205 7

En savoir plus Lire moins
Ce article a été ajouté au panier

Résumé

Parvenue jusqu’à nous dans un manuscrit népalais du IXe siècle remarquablement préservé, la Niśvāsatattvasaṃhitā est reconnue aujourd’hui comme ce qui est probablement le plus ancien texte révélé du Mantramārga conservé dans son intégralité. Bien que les chercheurs furent nombreux, tout au long du XXe siècle, à mentionner l’importance historique de cet ouvrage, c’est la première fois qu’il est publié. Ce volume contient l’édition critique et la traduction anglaise annotée des trois strates les plus anciennes de l’ouvrage : le Mūlasūtra, l’Uttarasūtra et le Nayasūtra. Les sujets abordés sont notamment la cosmologie, les rituels d’adoration et d’initiation, le yoga. Une longue introduction tente de situer ces sūtra dans leur contexte, en examinant en particulier les témoignages susceptibles d’indiquer leur date. Suivent un résumé de leur contenu, une description du manuscrit ancien et de ses trois apographes du XXe siècle, ainsi qu’un examen des écarts de la langue du Niśvāsa par rapport aux normes paninéennes.

Notes

Vous pouvez également commander ce titre à l'adresse suivante :

shanti@efeo-pondicherry.org

À propos de l'éditeur

Goodall (Dominic)

Membre de l’EFEO depuis 2000.

Né à Londres en 1967, Dominic Goodall a étudié le grec et le latin, puis le sanskrit au Pembroke College, Oxford. Après son Bachelor of Arts (Sanskrit with Pali, 1990), il a été initié au tamoul médiéval par le professeur S. A. Srinivasan, à l'université de Hambourg (1990-1991). Il est ensuite retourné à Oxford, au Wolfson College, pour y faire un doctorat sous la direction du professeur Alexis Sanderson portant sur l'école théologique du Śaivasiddhānta dans le Cachemire du Xe siècle. Sa thèse achevée (1995), il a été allocataire de recherches à l'Institut français de Pondichéry pendant deux ans (1996-1997), après quoi il est revenu à Oxford en qualité de Wolfson College Junior Research Fellow of Indology (1998-2000). Membre de l'EFEO depuis septembre 2000, il a dirigé le centre EFEO de Pondichéry de 2002 jusqu’en 2011.

Après quatre années à Paris (2011-2015), où il animait des séminaires à l’École pratique des hautes études (Section des sciences religieuses), notamment sur le shivaïsme et sur les inscriptions du Cambodge, il est actuellement affecté de nouveau à Pondichéry.

Parmi ses publications, plusieurs présentent des éditions et traductions d'ouvrages de poésie en sanskrit et de tantras et commentaires théologiques jusqu'ici inédits. 

Il co-dirige, avec Mme Marion Rastelli de l’Académie Autrichienne des Sciences, le dictionnaire viennois de la terminologie tantrique hindoue, le
Tāntrikābhidhānakośa, et il contribue à l'Encyclopaedia of Manuscript Cultures in Asia and Africa (EMCAA), qui se prépare à Hambourg.

En mai 2016, il a été élu membre correspondent étranger de l'Académie des Inscriptions et Belles-Lettres.

Livres similaires